I Wanna Iguana is one of my favorite children’s books. So, I used the idea and had my kids create books with their own exotic animal. Here’s what they came up with:

I also took a poem called Giant Children (found in the book Giant Children 🙂 ) where a hamster tells about what he sees during a school day. You don’t realize that the hamster is telling the story until the end of the poem when he states who he is. Here’s what one of my kid’s came up with:

All my students loved both these projects! Did I say “ALL”?!?! Yes…ALL the kids loved both projects and excited to display them for their parents on Open House night. I think they really enjoyed these projects because: 1. the books were about themselves and their creativity, and 2. the books were just short and small enough so it wasn’t tedious.

