One of my favorite illustrators is Eric Carle. Who doesn’t love The Grouchy Ladybug

Catalog #3479B: The-Grouchy-Ladybug (click to close)

or The Very Hungry Caterpillar

the-very-hungry-caterpillar400x300

or A House for Hermit Crab?

A House For Hermit Crab

Eric Carle’s illustrations are unique. He paints and creates different textures on tissue paper and saves them for when he’s ready to make a book. When he has an idea, Eric looks at what he has and cuts out different shapes and makes a collage to put together his pictures for the book. He then adds details with a pencil or pen.

One summer, I taught a fourth and fifth grade “Art of Writing” class that integrated art and, well, writing. We studied Eric Carle and read many of his books for two days. We spent one day creating the paper. I used what I had: different colored construction paper and tempura paint. While it was drying, we talked about what we could write about. We had studied different types of poems by this point, so instead of a book, the kids wrote poems about an animal, keeping in mind that they would have to create a picture of the animal after the poem was complete. It took the kids two more days to complete the poems and art, but they did a fabulous job! I wish I would have taken pictures of their poetry too, but it must have escaped me.

Didn’t they do such a great job?!?! 🙂

